If in any kind of situation involving law enforcement, teens should talk to their parents about it, because this can create a learning experience. The cell phone rule is understandable, but not being allowed even one passenger seems pretty ridiculous. After holding your license for one year, you may carry up to three passengers under age 21 in the following situations: travel to and from a school-sponsored activity there is a licensed driver 21 years old or older in the front passenger seat or there is an emergency. But she says if new laws are passed to make roads safer, there are other improvements that have to go hand in hand. For the first year, they may not drive with more than one non-family member passenger under age Learn more about the laws where you live. The commonwealth lost points for compliance with the open container law in the impaired driving category.
2) Virginia Driver's License
Breaking the law can lead to fines, license suspension and other penalties. At 15 years and six months old, you can apply for your Virginia learner's permit. Fifteen other states have a zero passenger law for Level II drivers and 22 states allow just one. Children Must Remain in Rear-Facing Car Seats Until Age 2 Children in Virginia must remain in rear-facing car seats until the age of 2 or the minimum weight limit called for by the car seat manufacturer. Without driver education, teens can get an unrestricted license at age If you are under 18, you must also complete a state-approved driver education program at a driver training school, a public or private school, or through a DMV-approved online course provider. There are seven levels to the curriculum, providing over 30 hours of accreditation.
Licensing & State Laws - Virginia
There are seven levels to the curriculum, providing over 30 hours of accreditation. A parent-teen driving agreement can help you enforce licensing rules that the state and your family set. You will receive 5 safe driving points if you voluntarily complete a driver improvement clinic. Virginia imposes age-based restrictions on teen drivers. Level II drivers are also permitted to carry up to three passengers. Sorry, your blog cannot share posts by email.
If stopped by the police, teens should expect to present a valid license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance. They must pass a behind-the-wheel driving test, and provide proof of practice driving time. You may get your learner's permit when you reach 15 years and 6 months of age. Graduated Driver Licensing. So let's break down each step:. What is Virginia Graduated Driver Licensing?
14 days ago